“Missed him again!” by Zachary Chopchinski

This Christmas season, I’ve decided to do something a little different. I’ve invited 24 authors to share some of their favorite things about the holidays. I hope you enjoy the 24 days of Christmas countdown with “These are a few of my Favorite Things.” Enjoy! ~Casey Hays

*Be sure to look for a Giveaway at the end of each post.*

“Missed him again!” 

zach-1In today’s age, magic and hope are almost as bleak as the real world itself. People seem to lose touch with the wonders of life, being human, and the sheer awe of the world. It’s in this spirit that I think about these issues, and realize how lucky I was. I owe this luck to my grandparents on a large scale. They were the ones that made sure that no matter how things were going at home, my sister Cassie and I had a magical Christmas. 

The holidays are always a bit of a magical adventure for kids. I certainly was not the exception, and my grandmother made sure of this. Though there were many different things that we did over the years together, my family and I, the smallest one always springs to mind first (and also make me feel like a complete ditz as an adult).

Every year, we would all gather and eat a large meal that my grandmother would spend all day making. This would go on until the call for presents by the children was too much for the adults to handle. By “the children” I’m referring to my sister and I. Oh, did I mention that we always did Christmas on Christmas Eve?

Anyway, we would get the stir in us and start eyeing the bare tree. The adults knew it was time and that Santa must be on his way. Every year, right after dinner, my grandparents would tell the two of us that we needed to rush upstairs and clean up for when Santa comes. You better believe that we did. Teeth brushed, hair adjusted, potty utilized, and we were ready to go. 

Wouldn’t you know it, every year of my childhood, no matter how fast we were, we always missed the big guy. Though we always swore that this year would be the year that we caught him, we never were fast enough. I will always remember the magic of that man and never forget to wash up as quickly as I can after Christmas dinner. 

One year, I will catch him!

For a chance to win an ebook from Zach, simply comment below with your favorite Christmas song!

Zachary is a bow tie wearing, formal vest rocking, pocket watch using, sarcastic monster of a writer. Currently residing in Orlando, Florida, he spends his days working, writing, procrastinating and sweating off extremities he swore he would need in life (‘cause it’s hot in Florida). 
Zach has multiple college degrees, in the fields of criminal justice and criminology…because he wanted to catch ALL the bad guys. Now, coupled with being an author of young adult fiction he spends his days yelling at people for breaking regulatory laws. 
Zach is the author of the Gabrielle series, a young adult fantasy with a paranormal-historical-time traveling twist (try saying that five times fast).    
2 thoughts on ““Missed him again!” by Zachary Chopchinski

  1. My favorite Christmas song is All I want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth.

    Your bio is truly one of the best out there. Hope you catch Santa this year!

Leave a Reply

