Wash those hands!

Coronavirus has hit full force!

I would like to say it’s the reason I didn’t publish a Whispering Wednesday submission last week, but that’s just not the truth. I simply forgot! Oops!

Jokes about the lack of toilet paper and hand soap aside, I guess this little bug is no laughing matter. I mean, even Tom Hanks and Rita Wilson have been struck in Australia. If Hollywood isn’t immune, we run-of-the-mill types better buckle our seat belts! (insert LOLOLOLOL here).  emoji

So… should we be freaking out, or are we jumping the gun to a degree? My daughter goes to school in the Seattle, WA area where several deaths have been reported. She’s flying home on Saturday for Spring Break. . . and hopefully leaving any hint of the virus behind. She reported yesterday so many people have cancelled their flights in a panic that a group of her friends managed to get round-trip tickets to Hawaii over the weekend for $200! Wow!

In other news, many people have been demanding to be tested for COVID-19 even if they aren’t exhibiting symptoms. . . just in case. Frankly, that seems a waste of tests, in my humble opinion, as many of these people are testing negative and have never developed symptoms. As of the last reports, medical professionals are halting this practice. If you’re symptomatic, you can have a test. Otherwise, don’t assume you’re going to get the virus.

As for myself, I’ve never had a flu shot, and I’ve never had any of the flus we’ve been privy too: swine, bird, H1N1, and the list goes on. I don’t know if it’s better to get the shot or not; I just know that those who do usually get the flu. I’m never sick. So either I’m never going to get sick because I’ve never introduced a flu vaccine into my system, or one of these days, knock-on-woodI’m going to get slammed with every kind out there all at once. (Knock on wood!)

The good thing is this isn’t the first virus scare, and it won’t be the last. Even if you catch it, the likelihood of survival for most is pretty good. Of course, I’m not an extreme worrier, so that only holds so much weight. I entrust myself and my family to the One who’s truly in control of whether I live or die, toilet paperwhich keeps me from panicking. We did, however, buy one package of toilet paper this week at the local Wal-mart. I heard this morning the city has run out. So I guess it’s a good thing we were in need of some.

In the mean time, wash those hands! Don’t touch your face, sanitize often, sneeze into your elbow and all that jazz. Let’s make America virus free again! (I couldn’t resist).

blushing Until next time…

 

Leave a comment